JOHN BARNES


Profil

Name : John Barnes
Birthdate: 07.11.1963
Birthplace: Kingston Jamaica
Bought from: Watford
Signed for LFC: 900000 09.06.1987
Play And Goal : 407 Time and 108 Goal

Career

His home in sunny Jamaica in the Caribbean sea seemed far away when the 12-year-old John Charles Bryan Barnes, so christened because of his father’s admiration for Welsh legend John Charles, came to England for the first time. His father had been hired as Jamaica’s military attaché in London. John witnessed a completely different world: “I had never seen snow before. Tropical Jamaica seemed another planet away, let alone another continent, when we arrived in freezing England on 26 January 1976. As our plane came in to land at Heathrow, I stared out of the window and saw all the white roofs. My heart sank. I could not imagine living in such a cold climate. But beyond the white roofs, I caught sight of what seemed like countless football pitches and my spirits lifted.”

Within a week he had found a football club, Stowe Boys Club. The team was strong and went easily into double figures against its opponents. At home in Kingston Barnes was used to play in the middle or up front, but everybody in the Stowe team wanted to attack and couldn’t care less about defensive duties: “Someone had to show responsibility. After I had been made captain, I thought it had better to be me. So I spent my three and a half years with Stowe at centre-half. I was the only one with the necessary discipline. Occasionally, I dribbled out of defence. If I had wanted to I could have gone around all the opposing players and scored. But I preferred to give the ball to the other centre-back, Micky Edmonds, who loved dribbling. ‘Go on Micky’, I told him. ‘Off you go. I’ll stay here.’ Even at thirteen, I was very team-orientated, aware of the need for shape and discipline. This sense of self-restraint, of sacrificing personal desire for the good of the collective, meant I was well prepared for the life of a professional.”
Stowe didn’t have an U-17 team so he moved to non-league Sudbury Court. Watford scouts spotted him and he was signed by the then Second Division club in the summer of 1981 when he was seventeen years old. His father’s tenure as ambassador had come to an end and the family was on its way back to Jamaica. It was a big decision for an unhardened 17-year-old to stay behind and try to become a professional footballer. Barnes was left on his own in London and got an early opportunity to impress Hornets’ manager, Graham Taylor in a youth team game. “Graham saw me control the ball and then send a left-footed volley flying past Orient’s goalkeeper. ‘That’s all I need to see’, Graham said to those around him and left.” Barnes was put in the reserves where he only played four games before he got his big chance with the first team on the 5th of September 1981 against Oldham Athletic. Watford’s talisman was striker Luther Blissett but he was suspended for this fixture. Barnes came on as a substitute for the last 15 minutes and did enough to win a starting place in the next game against Chelsea a week later. His role was to receive the ball, get past the right-back and pass it for the forwards to feed on. It was a simple task in Taylor’s team which was best known for efficient football that didn’t focus on the aesthetics of the sport. Blissett’s strike partner Ross Jenkins had left the team in the middle of the season and Barnes took his place up front. Top of the list was Blissett with 22 goals, but Barnes was the team third highest scorer with 14. The Vicarage Road club were promoted to the top division at the end of the 1981-82 season.

Watford’s chairman, Elton John, was proud of his team and Taylor’s plan had worked. The team had progressed from the fourth division to the first in four years. The 1982-1983 season, which was Watford’s first in the top flight was incredible. Defences couldn’t cope with Watford’s air strikes. On the last day of the season Watford beat Liverpool and Manchester United lost which meant Watford captured 2nd place with Barnes as the key player. “I remain proud of my scoring record and particularily the goals I managed in the 1982-83 season, the best year of my career. Even the vintage 1987-88 season at Liverpool could not match this year at Watford. Midway through the season, Zico described me as ‘the future of English football.'”

Striker Maurice Johnston was bought from Partick Thistle and Barnes returned to the left wing the following season. The 1st division sides had caught on to Watford’s tactics and The Hornets became a mid-table team. Watford was in the UEFA Cup and going strong in the FA Cup and went all the way to Wembley against Everton in the biggest game of the season where they lost 2-0. In 1983 he was picked for the senior England team for the first time and a year later scored a stunning individual goal to help his country record a famous win over Brazil in Rio de Janeiro. As Watford established themselves in the First Division, Barnes was regularly linked with a move to a higher-profile club. Watford finished the 1986-87 season in ninth place and at the end of the season Graham Taylor left for Aston Villa. John Barnes was also on his way out after featuring in 233 League games, scoring 65 goals.

“Watford were a wonderful club, full of honest characters, but I had outgrown them. It was time to move on, to start winning trophies with a heavyweight clubs. Liverpool, the leading team of the era, first made overtures in February 1987 but I knew I was going to stay at Watford until the end of the season when my contract expired. I wanted to keep my options open. If I committed myself to Liverpool in February, Juventus or Real Madrid might have come along and that would have been desperately frustrating. Holding on represented a gamble because of the threat of injury or Liverpool’s interest cooling. But, having decided to leave Watford, it was important to see what was around. Italian football would have suited me as it would any flair player. Given my technical skills, I would be more appreciated in Italy than in England. But as the season wore on, it looked increasingly like my destination was to be Manchester United or Liverpool. Alex Ferguson was very eager to sign me but he had just bought Jesper Olsen, a left-winger. I’m not sure I would have gone to Old Trafford anyway. Things weren’t going particularly well for Ferguson. United in the 1980s presented a far less attractive proposition than the United of the 1990s. Liverpool seemed the best bet.”

“Even if my scoring record proves I could score, I admit I was never an out-and-out goalscorer. The actual act of scoring did not mean that much to me. I would rather create something beautiful than have the ball bounce off my knee and bobble over the line. I preferred to be the player who beat three men and crossed the ball for it to go in the off someone else’s knee.”

In the summer of 1987. Kenny Dalglish agreed a fee of £900,000 to bring John Barnes to Anfield, where he would join forces with the also recently-signed Peter Beardsley and John Aldridge to form one of the club’s most attacking and exciting forward lines ever. “At the press conference I was also honest and upfront. ‘When it became obvious I wasn’t going to Europe there was only one club in England for me and that was Liverpool.’ My yearning for Italy was so well-documented that I could hardly duck the issue. The Liverpools of this world had inspired me because Watford were the underdogs. We used to love trying to put one over Liverpool. I think that’s Liverpool pursued me because I always played well against them, often scoring. Kenny recalled one game when I beat Alan Hansen to score. After that match, Kenny said to Alan: ‘We’ll sign that John Barnes.’ On one occasion I man-marked John Wark but often I played centre-forward against Liverpool. Ian Rush was leaving for Juventus and I was completely convinced Kenny bought me to partner John Aldridge upfront. ‘Kenny’, I asked shortly after signing, ‘where will I be playing?’ Without a second’s pause, Kenny replied, ‘Left-wing’. Kenny knew that Peter Beardsley, a clever skilful support striker, would soon be joining. I had thought my left-wing days were over.”

“As training started, I kept expecting some kind of initiation into the mystique of Liverpool playing. Liverpool’s secret training methods were part of football’s folklore; no one knew what they were but everyone was convinced they existed. Me too; I waited for the blindfold, for the silver goblet to be pressed against my lips and for the order to drink blood to confirm my ordination into the Anfield brotherhood. There was no ceremony, no intrigue. Liverpool’s way involved five-a-sides, messing around, going out and getting drunk. ‘What the hell is this?’ I thought. ‘How can they be so relaxed compared with Watford?’ But Liverpool trained properly and I took to it from the first day. I looked around Anfield, at the other players and saw what training entailed. ‘This is where I belong’, I told myself.

Liverpool practised small-sided games every day and it was high-intensity stuff. We used to do a very light warm-up, jog around the field a couple of times to loosen the limbs, do a few stretches, put the cones down for goals and then go into five-a-side or eight-a-side. We played twenty minutes of that, had a few sprints and more small-sided practice. ‘That was interesting, what are we going to do tomorrow?’ I asked the other players after my first day. ‘Same again’, they chorused and headed for home.

It was the same every day, every single day. There was no tactical work, none whatsoever. All the strategic stuff was done within the small-sided games. Liverpool believed that everything we faced in five-a-sides would be encountered again on match day. That was why the five-a-sides were so competitive. Every player treated five-a-sides as if they were Cup finals on a small pitch. Liverpool’s training characterized Liverpool’s play – uncomplicated but devastatingly effective.”
It only took Barnes 9 minutes to create a goal for John Aldridge on his Liverpool debut at Arsenal on Highbury on 15th of August 1987. Barnes’ first real test was his Anfield debut on 12th of September against Oxford. Liverpool boss Kenny Dalglish was delighted by his performance: “Barnes did what we expected him to do. He made a goal, scored one, and entertained. You remember that.” The season was like a fairytale: “We had four games on the spin when we scored four in each, against Newcastle United, Derby County, Portsmouth and Queens Park Rangers. It was a golden period. Everything I tried worked: every trick or dribble, feint or pass produced something. Our performance against QPR was astonishing. The memory of that match burns more vividly in my mind than any other I played for Liverpool. Rangers were league leaders and the game was shown on Match of the day. I came into my own, scoring twice in front of the Kop. Football does not come much better. For my first goal, I played a one-two with Aldridge and was about to curl the ball along the ground as David Seaman, QPR’s keeper, rushed out. But Paul Parker came sliding in, so I had to lift the ball which took off and sped into the top corner. It looked great; right-footed as well. My second goal began in the centre circle. Although I usually started on the left, I often moved inside at Liverpool. Warren Neill was supposed to be marking me but I had drifted away from the flank so he left me. I was too deep for the centre-halves to step out and pick me up. Besides, Rangers had possession. Kevin Brock tried to dribble past me and I just stuck a foot out and nicked the ball. Terry Fenwick rushed in to repair the damage so I pushed the ball to the left of him. Whenever would-be tacklers came sliding in, I tried to toe the ball past them, ride the challenge and regain balance and the ball on the other side. After I pushed the ball past Fenwick, I landed and brought the ball back with my left foot in one movement. It was difficult to see why I didn’t fall over or how I changed direction.

Liverpool won the championship this season with 90 points, nine more than 2nd place Manchester United. Liverpool scored 87 goals of which Barnes scored 15. He received rave reviews from legends in the game such as George Best: “John Barnes can be the greatest. He was described by the England boss Bobby Robson as the black Best, and I reckon he is right. Barnes has the ability to become the best, the most exciting winger in British Soccer since me. His transfer to Liverpool was the perfect move for a man who was born with stunning talent. The Anfield academy will take that natural ability, harness it with consistency, and produce a truly world-class performer.” Legend Tom Finney was also mesmerised by Barnes’ talents: “Players like John Barnes come along just once in a lifetime.” Barnes got the recognition he deserved for his part in Liverpool’s dominance and was voted PFA’s and Football Writer’s Player of the year.Barnes summed the 1987-88 season up perfectly: “We were irresistible, playing with fluency and imagination, creating chances at will. Every time Bruce Grobbelaar gathered the ball, he threw it out and we were off, weaving our way into the final third. The accuracy of our passing and each player’s confident touch ensured we rarely gave away possession. So each time we got the ball, we expected to make a chance for John Aldridge or whoever was in the box. The opposition must have been terrified.” The double was on the horizon where minnows Wimbledon faced the mighty Liverpool. Wimbledon’s 1-0 win was Liverpool’s major disappointment in the club’s historic season.

Liverpool struggled to recapture their form from the unique 1987-1988 season but clicked into gear in the second part of the 1988-1989 season and put together an unbelievable run of results, 15 wins and 3 draws in 18 league games and reaching the FA Cup final. All this didn’t matter however as the Hillsborough disaster claimed 96 lives on 15th of April.

Despite Hillsborough Liverpool had to finish the season and two exciting finals were on the horizon. The Reds had a three point lead on Arsenal before the teams met in the last league match of the season on the 26th of May 1989 at Anfield. Liverpool had a goal difference of 65-26 (+39) against Arsenal’s 71-36 (+35). Alan Smith scored in the 52nd minute and one more goal would mean Arsenal would be champions. John Barnes received the ball in the final moments of the game.

“The match was well into injury time, the Kop was already celebrating and most Liverpool minds were on the double when I decided to show some ambition for possibly the first time in the evening. What I did next cost Liverpool the championship. For some reason, I had wandered over to the right and was in possession. To this day, I do not know what I was doing over there. Arsenal, aware of the ebbing time, were desperate to retrieve the ball, to launch one final attack, so Tony Adams slid in on me. I beat him and carried on towards the corner flag. Here I made a terrible mistake. I should have taken the ball down to the corner and stayed there, running down the clock. But Kevin Richardson came across. Ambition clouded my judgement. I looked at Kevin, a midfielder clearly exhausted and out of position, and felt I could dribble past him. Then I would be in on goal and glory awaited. So I ran at Kevin, but as I tried to push the the ball past him, he nicked it off me. So unfolded a chain of events that destroyed Liverpool’s double aspirations.”

With 91 minutes and 22 seconds of the game played Michael Thomas scored in the most dramatic fashion possible. Some 40 seconds later the game was finished.

“Two-nil to Arsenal and Liverpool’s double dream was shattered. No one at Anfield that night could actually believe Arsenal had won the championship. I couldn’t. Even the Arsenal players had disbelief etched on their faces, almost unable to come to terms with the fact that they had overturned the odds in the last minute of the last game of the season. The Kop, ever generous, applauded Arsenal. We never saw their players afterwards, although we heard them in their dressing-room which was reverberating with noise. It was great for Arsenal but we really should have avoided it, particularly me. In the dressing-room, Ronnie Moran said to me, ‘What were you doing? You should have taken the ball down to the corner flag.’ But no one else criticised me. Everyone was too shell-shocked.”

Liverpool didn’t finish this tragic season empty handed. The big two Liverpool teams played each other in the FA Cup final: “What a day the final was. Unforgettable. The sun shone, the fans mixed, observing a minute’s silence in which you could almost hear the tears drop. I couldn’t believe it when Everton came back to 2-2 and then Rushie got our winner. At the final whistle, the fans poured on to the pitch, which I could understand. As I wormed my way out of the crowd, they kept rubbing my head. Scousers love pulling your hair and rubbing your head.” Barnes had finally won his elusive cup winners’ medal after defeats with both Watford and Liverpool.
John Barnes joined Ian Rush in the forward line in the 1989-1990 season as John Aldridge had been dropped to the bench and was soon on his way out. Barnes also took over from Aldo as the club’s penalty taker. Liverpool were inconsistent throughout the first part of the season but never too far away from the top. Barnes was however very consistent in his goalscoring and had scored 12 goals in just 20 matches and in the second half of the season he improved upon that by scoring 16 goals in 25 matches to take his haul to 28. Barnes was top-scorer at Liverpool with 28 goals, two ahead of the prolific Ian Rush, including 22 League goals and was second highest goalscorer in the League two goals behind Gary Lineker.

Barnes was voted Player of the Year by the Football Writers and joined legends such as Danny Blanchflower, Kenny Dalglish, Stanley Matthews and Tom Finney who also won this award twice in their careers. Liverpool won the championship in a comprehensive fashion, nine points in front of Aston Villa and 17 points in front of champions Arsenal. The Reds finished the season in style, beating Coventry 6-1 at Highfield Road, Barnes scoring a hat-trick.

Liverpool won the first 14 games of the 1990-91 season and in February 1991 Liverpool was in the familiar top position. Liverpool and Everton drew 4-4 in an exciting FA Cup 5th round replay. One day before a League game against Luton, Barnes was on his way to training when he received some surprising news. “I was surprised to find a load of reporters standing around in the car-park. ‘What are you lot all doing here?’ I asked. ‘We are only training today. The match is tomorrow.’ Almost before I had finished speaking, one of the journalists broke in. ‘John, what do you think about the news?’ ‘What news?’, I replied. ‘The news that Kenny has resigned.’ I didn’t believe them. But the Liverpool coach rolled into the car-park without Kenny and the players quickly confirmed what had happened. I was shocked.” Liverpool’s title charge petered out and Arsenal won the championship. Barnes still had a good season and scored 18 goals in 45 matches.

Graeme Souness was at the helm when the 1991-1992 season started. Barnes got injured in the second League match and didn’t feature again until January. John played a big part in the team‘s march to the FA Cup final. He scored a hat-trick against Crewe in the 3rd round and in the 6th round he hit a great pass to Michael Thomas who scored the winning goal against Aston Villa. He scored one of Liverpool‘s penalties when they beat Portsmouth in a penalty shoot-out in the semi-final replay. Wembley beckoned for Barnes but a few days before the big game he strained his calf while playing volleyball with his team-mates in a hotel pool and could only watch from the sidelines as Liverpool conquered Sunderland in the final.

Like so many of his colleagues at the time, Barnes was unable to show his talents on the European club stage until 1991 following Liverpool’s ban after Heysel in 1985. In 1992 the 28-year-old was at crossroads in his Liverpool career. The manager the had bought him to the club had left and he realised this could be his last chance to sample the life on the continent. He still harboured dreams about playing for Juventus, Barcelona or Real Madrid. These dreams perished in a warm-up game for the European championship against Finland in Helsinki. He effectively tore his right-leg hamstring to shreds and was out until November. This had a detrimental effect on his ability to take players on as he always used his right leg when taking off on a solo run using his left to take the ball past players. A similar injury finished Mark Lawrenson’s career and Barnes was forced to change his style of play finally moving into central midfield.

He started playing again late November and when offered a new contract in February 1993 he decided to stay put as he could see it would be a while until he was back to his best. Barnes had been robbed off his electrifying pace and in the 1992-1993 and 1993-1994 seasons, he was far from the player he used to be, only scoring 8 goals. Souness kept faith in Barnes despite critisising him in front of the other players pleading with him to play to the best of his ability. Barnes tried his best but his physical condition curtailed his natural instincts.

Souness resigned at the end of January 1994 replaced by Roy Evans who created a new role in the team for Barnes. It was plain to see that Barnes’ pace had vanished and he wanted him to dictate play from midfield and be his coach on the field. Barnes was inspired by this new role as he understood the game better than most. He was left to hold the fort while other players attacked the opposition. Steve McManaman had taken over his role on the wing and flourished with Barnes‘ assistance.

Evans handed Barnes the captain‘s armband in 1996 encouraged by his excellent improvement in form. Liverpool had the makings of a title-winning side but the captain felt their discipline let them down when it mattered. “I had no problem with the Liverpool players modelling but I was concerned with their time-keeping, their lack of respect and casual attitude in training. I ranted and raved at the players to get them going. I wasn’t really concerned with my own job; driving the team obsessed me now. I became intense and dissatisfied about practices at Liverpool. Melwood was turning from a training ground into a playground.” We’ve really got to get training sorted out’, I often told Roy. It was pure frustration on my part. I was so excited about this Liverpool team. I looked at talents like Jamie, Robbie and Macca and felt we could be the best side in the country. Liverpool didn’t know why they weren’t the best around, but I did. We were inconsistent because we trained inconsistently. There were days when we trained well and because of the the quality available we looked good on the field. During the past few seasons, halfway through the year everybody would be saying: ‘Liverpool are going to win the League, look at the way the play.’ Then all of a sudden, with ten or so games left, Liverpool slipped up.”

Liverpool wasn’t winning as many cups and titles in Barnes’ first three years at the club. Barnes played in his first cup final in seven years when he faced Bolton in the League cup final in 1995. He created McManaman’s first goal in a 2-1 victory. Barnes was also Liverpool’s captain when the Reds lost 1-0 to Manchester United in the FA Cup final in 1996.

Barnes had an impressive start to the 1996-1997 season and scored one goal in a 3-3 draw. He clearly meant business and was in a much more attacking mood than in previous seasons. His form wasn’t enough for the whole team to last the season and capture the title. On the 24th of April Liverpool played its second semi-final in the European Cup Winners Cup against Paris St. Germain at Anfield. The first leg was lost 3-0. In the previous game Liverpool lost 3-1 at home against Manchester United which ended their challenge for the title. Barnes scored Liverpool’s goal with a header which proved to be his last for the club. A few changes were made before the 2nd leg against PSG and Barnes was dropped for the first time in his ten year career at Liverpool. Liverpool did its best with the fans’ great support, but just fell short of the final, winning 2-0. Barnes was on the bench for the last three remaining games, only coming as a substitute in the last game of the season against Sheffield Wednesday. Liverpool fell from second to fourth. Paul Ince was bought from Inter Milan in the summer and took over from Barnes as Liverpool’s captain. The former talisman of the club was on the bench in Liverpool‘s first game of the 1997/1998 season.

A decade after Barnes arrived at Anfield from Watford in 1987, he was given a free transfer and was signed for a second time by Kenny Dalglish, now manager of Newcastle United. He stayed on Tyneside for two seasons and when he appeared for the Magpies in the 1998 FA Cup final against Arsenal, it was the 5th time he had graced Wembley’s showpiece end-of-season finale. Unfortunately, as with Watford in 1984 and Liverpool in 1988 & 1996, he took a runners-up medal home with him. His sole success in this prestigious event had been in the emotional post-Hillsborough all-Merseyside final of 1989; injury prevented him from playing when Liverpool beat Sunderland in 1992.

After Dalglish left and Ruud Gullit took over he had to seek pastures new at Charlton, who had just been promoted to the top division, to get regular football. He only appeared in 12 league matches and was unable to prevent the south-east London club from being relegated on the final day of the season. As Charlton prepared for life back in Division One, Barnes announced his retirement as a player at the age of 35 nearly twenty years after he had made his debut for Watford.

The eloquent and erudite Barnes was always likely to stay in the game in some capacity. However, it was still a bit of a surprise when he was appointed Head Coach for Glasgow Celtic in 1999 under Kenny Dalglish once again who was now Director of Football at Parkhead. It was not a happy time for either man. Although still registered as a player, Barnes never took the field for Celtic in a competitive match. But he did have to watch from the sidelines as Celtic suffered a humiliating home cup defeat to the minnows of Inverness Caledonian Thistle. Barnes was sacked soon after that defeat, while Dalglish took over team affairs and won the League Cup dedicating the win to Barnes but was himself replaced by Martin O’Neill at the end of the season.

Barnes became the latest in a long line of ex-Liverpool players to work in the media covering football, in his case with Channel Five. He returned to his native Caribbean to set up some coaching clinics and was also working in the area as a part-time scout for Sunderland. In September 2008 he was appointed as the manager of the Jamaican national team. Although winners and hosts of the 2008 Caribbean cup, Jamaica failed to qualify for the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa. His contract with the Jamaican Football Federation was due to expire on the 30th of June, 2009. In the middle of June the JFF released a statement saying that “Barnes secured a contract with Tranmere for the upcoming season and advised the JFF of that development. With Barnes securing a job prior to the Gold Cup, the JFF decided not to offer him a short-term extension”. On the 14th of June, 2009 Sky Sports News showed an interview woth John Barnes, in which the former Liverpool star confirmed that he would be returning to club management as successor to Ronnie Moore at League One club Tranmere Rovers. After a dreadful start to the 2009-2010 season (just two victories from the opening eleven matches), it came as little surprise that John Barnes was dismissed by Tranmere only a few days after a 5-0 thrashing at Millwall. Jason McAteer, who had been appointed as Barnes’ assistant at Prenton Park, left the club at the same time.

Barnes was an experienced international when he joined Liverpool with 29 internationals to his name. He played the year before in the 1986 World Cup where he was only in a supporting role, but his performance against Argentina in the quarter-finals almost destroyed Diego Maradona’s world cup dream. Six minutes into the second half Maradona scored the infamous “Hand of God” goal past Peter Shilton. Four minutes later Maradona scored a brilliant individual goal. Barnes could only watch in awe from the bench. England was losing 2-0 when Barnes came on as substitute with 16 minutes to go. Barnes didn’t take long to make his presence felt and his superb pass from the left flank enabled Gary Lineker to score. In the 87th minute Barnes made his way down the flank again and passed the ball only for an Argentinian defender somehow to get the ball away from the goal-line. An incredible piece of defending saved Argentina and they went on to win the World Cup. A substitute’s role was was not sufficient for this great player who had started his international career three years before.

Barnes made his international debut against Northern Ireland on 28th of May 1983. He had played 9 internationals when England faced Brazil at the Maracana stadium on 10th of June 1984. Barnes took centre stage: “A minute before half-time, I picked up possession and began running at Brazil’s defence. For all the superlatives heaped upon that run, I can honestly say that if I had seen someone to pass to I would have done. On drifting inside from my normal left-wing station, my instinct had always been to pass first. Only in situations where no one was available would I carry on dribbling. Having slipped around the first Brazilian, I looked up to see if an England team-mate was nearby. There wasn’t, so I kept going. A pattern developed – look around, no support, keep going, beat another Brazilian, look around, no support, keep going, beat another Brazilian. I was not sure where I was until I found myself in front of goal facing the keeper. That was how the goal unfolded. I didn’t appreciate what an impact my slalom dribble was having. Apparently, one Rio paper described it as ‘the greatest goal ever seen at the Maracana’.” This goal proved to be a burden to England prospects as he was expected to repeat this individual brilliance on a regular basis. Barnes had been in sensational form for Liverpool leading to the European Championship in Germany in 1988. However contrary to his club where he was allowed to roam free he was told to stay out on the wing by England coach Bobby Robson where he was starved of the ball. England finished bottom of their group and Barnes was given unbelievable in the final match against USSR.

Barnes played a big part for England in the 1990 World Cup but an incident in the last sixteen against Belgium was typical for his international career. He scored a good enough goal which was his first goal in a World Cup, but the linesman claimed he was offside which was wrong. He injured his groin in the second half and was on the bench when David Platt’s heroics saved England in the 120th minute. Barnes started against Cameroon in the quarter-finals but had to be substituted as he couldn’t shake off his groin injury. He didn’t feature at all when England lost to West Germany in the semis. Barnes could have easily been England’s hero in the game against Belgium but instead he got injured so he finished one more big international tournament in disappointing fashion.

When Graham Taylor resigned as England’s coach it was expected that his international career was over, but in September 1994 Terry Venables put his faith in Barnes. The media wondered if European Championship in 1996 was a realistic option for the experienced campaigner but that didn‘t come to fruition. His 79th international against Colombia on 6th of September 1995 proved to be his last.

Diterbitkan oleh

sutrisnoynwa

Seorang Penggemar Anime, Otomotif, Liverpool FC, dan Islam

Tinggalkan Balasan

